Black Sea Ring Highway

  2. » 
  4. » 
  6. » 
  7. Black Sea Ring Highway

Black Sea Ring Highway

In April 2007, the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the member states of the Organization for Economic Cooperation of the Black Sea signed, in Beograd, a Memorandum of Understanding for the construction (unification) of the above mentioned motorway.

Following a proposal by the Greek State, “EGNATIA ODOS S.A.” was assigned the responsibility of the Joint Permanent Technical Secretariat (JPTS) for the realization of the project.

The above mentioned Memorandum was ratified by the Greek Parliament with the Law 205/3703/08-10-2008.

The Ring Highway is 7.000 km long and has vertical axis to Azerbaitzan, Serbia and Albania. Subject to the completion of its final alignment, many of its parts will coincide with sections of well known European axes.

It is noted that, according to the Memorandum of Understanding, it has been initially decided that the Ring Highway will pass through the following cities:

Istanbul (Turkey), Samsun (Turkey), Trabzon (Turkey),  Batumi (Georgia), Poti (Georgia), Yerevan (Armenia), Baku (Azerbaijan), Novorossiysk (Russia), Rostov-on-Don (Russia), Taganrog (Russia), Mariupol (Ukraine), Melitopol (Ukraine), Odessa (Ukraine), Chisinau (Moldova), Bucharest (Romania), Constantza (Romania), Haskovo (Bulgaria), Sofia (Bulgaria), Nish (Serbia), Belgrade (Serbia), Tirana (Albania), Edirne (Turkey), Komotini (Greece), Alexandroupolis (Greece), Istanbul (Turkey)

Click to listen highlighted text!